Day 53, Week 8: X Stretch


It seems to me that I should be losing more belly fat than I have so far.  I’ve been doing P90X for 53 days now.  Before I started, I was 165 lbs.  My goal is to get stronger, keep overall weight the same and reduce belly fat.  I am getting stronger.  I haven’t measured anything since the fit test, but I can see the increase in bulk and definition in by thighs, chest, arms and back.  Yet the belly fat remains.  So, I’m going to do some back of the envelope math.

I am starting from a place where whatever I was consuming and whatever physical activity I was doing, I was a steady 165 lbs.  I believe I am eating more now than I did before P90X (breakfast, morning & afternoon snacks), but I am eating much better: much more protein, far fewer carbs, much less fat, etc.  My recreational activity is the same as before with tennis and periodic hiking.  So, if I wasn’t doing P90X, perhaps I would be gaining some weight from eating more, even though it’s healthier. 

But, I AM doing P90X and I am conservatively burning an additional 480 calories/hour (according to Livestrong.com), which equals about 3,360 calories/week (6 days = 6 hours, plus 1 cumulative hour of ARX/week). Even though Yoga X is 90 minutes, I’m assuming calories burned = 1 hour, or 480.  As of week 7, I have introduced activity from P90X which burned an incremental  23,520 calories from my “baseline” burn.  One pound of fat = 3,500 calories. Given my weight was stable before P90X, I would have expected to lose 6.72 pounds. 

Hmmm, maybe I am progressing on schedule.  I weigh about 160 now. Since muscles ARE developing, the fat MUST be decreasing.  Maybe I had more in my butt than I realized… it seems to me the last refuge for fat is the belly.  Ok, I’ll stop panicking , for now.

I did X Stretch today before playing an hour long singles tennis match.  Let’s just say things didn’t go my way.  I got like maybe 2 points in the first set, losing 0-6 and then lost the second set at a more respectable 4-6.  Can’t blame P90X.  I think I burned maybe 40 calories in the match.  He was just much better than me, period.  These things happen.  On a positive note, I can just put my tennis clothes back in the drawer, no need to wash….

This entry was posted in P90X, Round 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 53, Week 8: X Stretch

  1. Shad says:

    A few thoughts… Belly fat is the absolute last to go. The fat inside and around our organs (visceral and adipose tissue) takes for. ever. to burn down. It takes it’s time so be patient. If you want to see it sooner, switch back to phase 1 eating if you’re not already.

Share your thoughts

