P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 0: Fit Test & Schedule


I took the Insanity Fit Test this afternoon. Wow.  That was oxygen deprivation.  I haven’t cramped like that in my abdomen since Day1 of P90X Plyometrics.  I sucked it up and went through each of the one minute exercises, secure in the knowledge I learned from Tony Horton that I can do anything for 30 seconds.  So I just did each exercise in two thirty second blocks in my mind.  I think I did reasonably well, comparing my initial results with those reported by Tania and Chris (well more Chris than the robotic, too weirdly cheerful, Tania).  Anyway, here are the results (and here’s a blank, 1 page Fit Test card):


Now that I’ve completed the Fit Test, I guess I’m ready to embark on my 90 Day Muscle Maintenance/Fat Burner Plan.  The objective is to kill off the remaining belly fat while maintaining muscle mass gained from P90X.  I will be using the following Hybrid schedule combining elements of both P90X and Insanity.  As before, I will begin my weeks on Sunday and use Saturday as my Rest Day.  I don’t expect I will be as uncompromising about missing a day or two here and there. I’ll just need to pick up where I left off and do my best to stay on track.  Wish me luck.

Weeks 1 through 3
Sunday Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X
Monday Plyometric Cardio Circuit
Tuesday Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Legs & Back, Ab Ripper X
Friday Cardio Power & Resistance
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 4: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio & Max Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Core Synergistics
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 5 through 7
Sunday Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Ab Ripper X
Monday Plyometric Cardio Circuit
Tuesday Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Legs & Back, Ab Ripper X
Friday Cardio Power & Resistance
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 8: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio & Max Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Core Synergistics
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 9 and 11
Sunday Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X
Monday Max Interval Plyometrics
Tuesday Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Max Interval Circuit
Friday Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 10 and 12
Sunday Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Ab Ripper X
Monday Max Interval Plyometrics
Tuesday Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Max Interval Circuit
Friday Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs Legs & Back; Ab Ripper X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 13: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio & Max Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Core Synergistics
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 0: Fit Test & Schedule

  1. Pingback: 2016’s Top 10 Posts | Bodamer Blog

  2. Erikstaham says:

    Hi Bodamer, I came across your blog when I found some info about P90X/Insanity Hybrid. That was awesome :)) !! Some guys on bodybuiding forum object the idea of combining two big guns : P90X and Insanity. I am 19 years old and just start to have some interests about working out, beach body : ). Because of the fitness foundation before ( I nearly finished the P90), I just have a little bit difficulties in taking the fit test of P90X and Insanity (like you said: oxygen deprivation). P90X is great for total body, Insanity is the god of burning fat, but i don’t have too much time to work out both so the hybrid may be a great great idea. My schedule is not the same as your hybrid due to my final purpose is just getting lean, six packs. I have combined like this :
    Monday-chest,back and ab ripper X,
    Tuesday-Cardio Resistance,
    Wednesday-Cardio Abs, Ab ripper X,
    Thursday-Cardio pure,
    Friday-Ab ripper, Cardio Recovery,
    Saturday-Plyometric,
    Sunday-Rest/Stretch
    (That just my week 1, and every week is not the same as others)
    As my purpose, I am a little short (just 1m73) and i hope to grow taller so i don’t concentrate on doing much lift like biceps, triceps or shoulders(That’s why I just choose one day of weeks for lifting) : D Asking some opinion from an experience person like you may be a good idea. I am just a newbie. So what is your point of view about my schedule?
    I don’t dream big, I hope i have enough passion to follow my own hybrid schedule. : D
    So please feel free to comment me. I would like to subcribe/follow your blog to update your progress as well as study your experiences.
    thank you.
    Erik

    • Erik,
      Thanks for stopping by and for the nice comments. You asked, so I’ll offer my feedback.

      1) It sounds like weight loss and “abs” is a big goal for you. I can tell you that if you want abs, you will really need to manage your diet, caloric intake and fat/carbs/protein ratios. I think that to do this successfully is actually harder than P90X or Insanity. Because its not 1 hour/day. It’s every single minute of every day. I’ve completed six rounds of P90X, Insanity and P90X2 and, yeah, I have some abs. But not a “six pack.” To get there, I would have to stop any cheat meals and eliminate alcohol. Just a heads up. For me, it’s about overall health and fitness, not the glam. Plus, abs at 50 years old is probably sorta “creepy.”

      2) You have youth on your side, so that will compensate for some of the challenges I experience. Your recoveries will be faster, your gains more dramatic. But, combining P90X & Insanity is very demanding and tough on the body. These routines break you down as they build you up. So there is the very real risk of injury if you don’t listen to your body. I had a knee injury from overuse (Insanity + tennis) that really hampered my ability for 3-4 months. You can help to avoid this by listening to your body/modifying your routine as needed and ensuring your are working on all muscle groups, not favoring one over the others.

      3) Which brings me to your schedule. Since I don’t have your whole schedule to review, I can’t really comment, other than to say I know it’s critical to do ALL the resistance routines. And even within a resistance routine, make sure you are focusing on each muscle group with the same level of effort. With your legs, for instance, you don’t want your hamstrings beating out your quads, or your butt, or ignoring your IT bands. Otherwise your kneecap may get pulled out of place by the more developed muscle group. I generally find that the exercise I hate the most is something I hate precisely because its what I need to be working on because it’s an under-developed area.

      Also, I strongly recommend keeping yoga in your weekly routine. It will help identify your weak areas and keep you limber.

      4) So, if it’s a hybrid you’re after, I can really only recommend one of the hybrid schedules I employed. They are very challenging and you will get a balanced, athletic build as a result. And so what if it takes you longer than 90 days to complete. The 90 day thing is just a mental trick to help people get through the challenges. After a while, when you’re enjoying the hard earned results of your efforts, you will realize that you’re destined to follow an ongoing exercise and diet regimen as part of a healthy life.

      Hope this helps. Good luck on your journey. –Albert

      P.S.– You can subscribe to this blog by scrolling to the bottom of the page & entering your email address & clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button.

      • Erikstaham says:

        Thank you, Albert
        When you mentioned about Yoga, overdoing leads to injuries, I realized my mistakes : D there are no yoga workouts in my routine. May be, Yoga could help me identify my weak points.
        I will continue chasing my hybrid(certainly, adjusted a little according to your advices : D). Can’t wait to the next week to work out with this challenging monster! So excited.
        Have a nice week ahead.
        PS: You are 50 years old and you work out these beast programs of beachbody @@ omg, keeping these habbits at this age really makes me admire you so much. In my country, 50 may be too old to do work out or dream of making some abs. Anyway, at this age, have you ever heard about Jack Lalanne?He is my idol. If you haven’t known yet, read his book named “live young forever”.
        Bye Bye.
        Erik.

        • Too funny. Have I ever heard of Jack LaLanne? Of course I have. Have you ever heard of The Beatles? Are people in your country allowed to use the internet when the’re over 50? Good luck to you!

Share your thoughts

