P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 1: Chest & Back; ARX


Note to Self: In the future, DO NOT drink Shakeology and then attempt to exercise until at least three hours have elapsed.

Today began my Round 2 P90X hybrid that will incorporate Insanity in place of the P90X Plyometrics and Kenpo X routines. So, it being the dawn of a new Round, I thought I would mix things up a bit and try drinking some Shakeology with an added scoop of whey powder, a banana, 1 cup of water and 1 cup of 2% milk.

Then, a couple of hours later, I started Round 2 with Chest & Back. My plan this round was/is to only do one round of each P90X routine, to maintain muscle mass. However, I’ve been looking forward to starting again and decided half way through the first round to continue to complete the second. Plus, I was tracking at +/- the same level as in week 11 of P90X Round 1, so I was feeling pretty happy. Unfortunately, when I got to Reverse Grip Chin Ups, I got seriously nauseous. I almost puked my Shakeology breakfast. I had to stop for 10-15 minutes until the nausea went away. Once I started again, the waves of nausea came back quickly and I aborted the routine after completing Heavy Pants. It was the first time EVER I failed to complete a P90X routine. The Shakeology and, to be honest, the 3 cups of coffee, just wasn’t sitting well with me.

Later in the afternoon, more out of stubbornness and pride than anything else, I completed the final 10 minutes of Chest & Back and the dreaded Ab Ripper X. Fifer Scissors do not get easier after 3 weeks off.

Even though I got queasy and failed to complete the routine in a single sitting, my Pull Ups improved to 17.5, up from 14.5 in Round 1, Week 11.  I am also continuing to do negative Pull Ups using the chair, and pulling the band 25 reps in each round of Pull Ups. Hopefully this approach will offer additional gains in the Pull Up department in this Round 2.

Oh, and Happy Mothers Day to all the Moms out there!

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

