P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 9: Plyometric Cardio Circuit


Yesterday, against my will, I inserted the Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit DVD into the drive and hit “play.”  The “warm up” was tough, as before. But this time I experienced the added joy of cramps in the arches of my feet when doing the jumping jacks.  Since I’ve never experienced this particular pleasure before.  I can only assume it’s due to stiff calves and perhaps under-hydration for the weekend’s backpacking and Sunday’s Chest & Back/ARX effort.

There is something to be said about the benefit of knowing what’s to come.  Even though I was feeling pretty drained going in to the circuit, knowing the routine and it’s duration made it easier, psychologically, to get through it. While it’s true I take all the reps at a slower pace than the perversely over-exuberant players on the DVD, I was able to keep up without pausing for most of the duration.  I reached failure once again in Circuit 2, but deeper into it this time. I was able to do the Level One thing, some ugly butt-too-high Ski Abs, but then the In and Outs were peppered with breaks.  I was pleased with getting through the Level One’s, though. 

So far though, Insanity is not an enjoyable process for me. But I am continuing with it because my cardio and aerobic performance has been improving, which makes it worth sacrificing 90 minutes of happiness per week at the altar of Insanity.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

