P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 36: Chest, Shoulders & Triceps


I began week 6 yesterday. I’m running a few days behind, as my week is scheduled to begin on Sundays. Since it’s summer, with all it’s goings-on, I expect the most efficient way to get back on schedule will be to continue to miss a day here and there, rather than pursue some insane goal to catch up.  As it is, I’ve been feeling drained all week. And I know it’s in large part due to my not eating enough.  I worked through yesterday’s Chest, Shoulders & Triceps without having had the benefit of my afternoon snack, and I felt it. 

With this round, I appear to be plateauing somewhat. I’ve been putting such an effort in, that–psychologically at least–I feel like there’s little room for improvement from week to week. I’m still producing ever-so-slight increases in my “Power Score” (the accumulation of points on the P90X Excel worksheet “Data” tab), but each workout has begun lately with the goal of matching the prior week’s performance. Yet even though my results are plateauing, I feel I’m still getting stronger. My form is improving on push ups and pull ups. Also, I know I’m not slacking off because I’ve been sore as hell for a couple of days after working each muscle group.

I understand that when you start from very low numbers in your first round that you can experience big gains (as I did). And that at some point things start to level off (eg: I’ve been doing 45 chair dips for weeks). I’d appreaciate hearing from those of you who have gone on and completed subsequent rounds of P90X to learn about your experience with plateauing.

Ab Ripper X. I skipped it yesterday, since I did it the prior day and I knew Shaun T would work my abs later today.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 36: Chest, Shoulders & Triceps

  1. Simon says:

    Plateaus are very frustrating but it only takes changing one thing to get going again. You can change your range of motion, or go super strict on the movements or, if you are a glutton for punishment like me you can get yourself a weight vest and surprise your body with an extra 20-50lbs!

  2. steffie26 says:

    Albert,
    I feel the exact same way! Tired not eating enough plateaued, just keeping with last week….I think the fact that I’m doing double most days is the culprit and the cold I’m playing tag with… Rest and good eating on the schedule lets see if that helps.

Share your thoughts

