P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 47: Legs & Back; ARX


I skipped my workout yesterday because I played my senior men’s doubles makeup tennis match that was rained out on Friday. It was 90+ degrees out and humid. Believe me, I got a sufficient workout just dissipating heat and moving on the court. Once again, I received several surprised comments about my ability to run down “winners.”  I was able to get to the ball fairly well. But in the heat, I really needed to choose WHEN to apply myself.

The match went well. We won 6-2, 6-2. In the second set, we broke them when they were serving to us at 2-4. It was cool because we overcame a 0-40 deficit to win that game and serve it out to win the match.

I spent the rest of the day just relaxing and drinking fluids.

So today, I picked up where I left off and did Legs & Back and Ab Ripper X. Once again, when starting Legs & Back, I was feeling pretty weak. But I resolved to try to hold ground with last week’s big Pull Up gains and increase the weight on a couple of leg moves. So I increased the weight on Calf Raise Squats and Step Back Lunges and that went OK. As a result, though, my Deadlift Squats were pretty wobbly and Sneaky Lunges once again became a bit of a challenge. Funny how a couple of changes can have such an impact across the routine. Oh and Pull Ups. Somehow, they increased as well to 90 cumulative, unassisted, up from last week’s 84.  If I manage to avoid injury, I really might get to 100 this round.

I did Ab Ripper X. My legs were kinda wooden and my form was crappy, but I did it. Of note: the last two rounds of Ab Ripper X, I “climbed my legs” freestyle, no grabs.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

