P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 66: Back & Biceps; ARX & Tennis


Sunday began with my Mixed Doubles make-up match from Saturday’s rain-out. We lost. It was a good three-setter. 6-2. 3-6, 6-7. Lost the third set in a tie-break. We missed nothing in the first set. Then in the second, we started making errors. I was moving just OK. I still received comments to the effect of “how did you get to that?” but I was feeling a step off in the second and third. My legs were feeling a bit heavy. My expectations for recent past performance have increased because of all this Insanity and P90X stuff. So while I was still moving MUCH better than I was six months ago I was not performing up to my current ability. Why? That’s a good question.  I’m not entirely sure, but since I was dragging ass all day yesterday, I can only assume that my “better” Max Interval Plyo effort the prior day took more out of me than I realized. Perhaps I was also under-hydrated and/or needed more sugar in my system. I’m also no spring chicken, so there’s that as well.

After the match, I rested for a few hours, felt sorry for myself and then got up and proceeded to work through Back & Biceps and Ab Ripper X. I did this EVEN THOUGH I REALLY DIDN’T WANT TO. I was feeling weak as hell and figured, heck, I feel lousy anyway, so go for it.

And it never ceases to amaze me how performance does not necessarily correlate to how I’m “feeling.” With the exception of Congdon Locomotives, where I increased my weights, I kept my weights and reps the same as the last time I did Chest and Back in week 7. And, believe me, it was hard pulling those curls yesterday. I did manage to increase my overall “power score” (the accumulation of points on the P90X Excel worksheet“Data” tab) up to 738 from 707 in week 7. Most of this gain was from increased cumulative, unassisted Pull Ups which increased to 52, up from 42 in week 7. I was happy with the results, but the effort was intense and joyless. Yoga today will allow me to hit the “reset” button.

My family wanted hamburgers for dinner. So since I was firing up the grill and needed to shop for food, I bought myself some wild sockeye salmon, which I enjoyed with some fruit and salad. Everybody was happy.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

