P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 69: Legs & Back; ARX


Milestone: With yesterday’s Legs & Back routine, I achieved 101 cumulative, unassisted pull ups. This is an accomplishment that was inconceivable to me even at the beginning of this second round. And it represents a sea change from where I was when I began this journey, unable to do any pull ups at all. It took 159 days to get here (the initial 90 + 69 in this round).

I’ve been making steady pull up gains throughout this second round hybrid. But when I mapped out my schedule, I failed to consider that Legs & Back routines ended in week 7, replacing them with Max Insanity routines for the remainder of the hybrid round. Well in week 7 I achieved 90 cumulative, unassisted pull ups in Legs & Back and I felt the goal of 100 was within reach. So I went ahead and modified my original hybrid schedule to incorporate Legs & Back in Weeks 10 & 12. This, I felt would give me a chance at, but by no means assure, my getting to 100. Providing additional opportunity to pursue pull ups via Legs & Back worked, so if you’re in a similar situation, I recommend this path.

If you’ve been reading this blog you may recall that at one point I commented how several of the exercises in Legs & Back had become very easy for me. Specifically, I was referring to the wall squats, Sneaky Lunge and the Groucho Walk. Again, if you are finding this to be the case for you as well, I found a remedy for this yesterday. They cure? I upped my weight to two forty pound dumbbells on the Calf Raise Squats, (from 2, 35 lbs).  Just this small change, early in the workout, make my legs shake through the wall squats and made all remaining squats and lunges challenging once again. Groucho Walk was still easy, but it’s supposed to be.

This morning, my neighbor introduced me to something I hadn’t experienced before. It was a core exercise wheel. “What’s that?” I asked. He then demonstrated how it worked. You get in a V Push Up position, holding the grips in your hands, then extend out to and arms out plank, then retract back up to the V position. “Wanna try?” He asked. “Sure, why not.” was my response. (Hell, I’ve been doing Ab Ripper X for 6 months. How hard can it be?)

So I get into the V position and slowly extend out. Once extended, it felt as if my ab muscles were ripping off my body, so I released. Wow. An entirely different level. Did I mention my neighbor is 19?

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 69: Legs & Back; ARX

  1. Abhijit says:

    I have been reading your blog for a while now. I am finally getting a chance to write. First for all, I like to say excellent work. Not only on your ongoing journey, but the way you have been consistent and dedicated. Also, I was benefited on the experiences you have written, so thanks for that.

Share your thoughts

