P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 71: Chest & Back; ARX


Yesterday I popped the Chest & Back DVD in and pressed “play,” continuing this Round 2 Hybrid at the beginning of week 11, right where I left off after my Ab Injury and vacation hiatus.

To be honest, I was a little nervous starting up again, so deep into this round, after being “off” for about 2 weeks. But, surprisingly, I started out very strong with standard push ups, and even pull ups felt strong.  In the end, the pull up numbers increased to a new high for Chest & Back: 54 cumulative, unassisted. But the effort was not without incident.

Note to self: Never. Never, ever, ever, eat eggs any time within five hours before attempting to engage in strenuous activity. This applies to everything: tennis, backpacking and ESPECIALLY P90X. I’ve “known” about this little fact for quite some time now, yet periodically I choose to ignore this wisdom. And I always wind up paying for it. For some reason, I just have difficulty digesting eggs.

Yesterday, I woke up hungry (because of the 6 hour time difference between Hawaii and Atlanta), so I ate a bagel with ham, eggs and cheese. I began the Chest and Back routine about three hours later. Well, as I stated earlier, I started out strong. But after doing Heavy Pants for the first time, I started feeling nauseous. So I took a small break, waited for the waves to calm and then hit “play” again. The nausea quickly returned and the remainder of the routine was punctuated with frequent breaks. Finally, about three-quarters of the way through the routine, I puked. After this new “ab exercise” (engage your core when puking), I immediately felt better. Not great, but better. I was able to complete the routine and then also go on and experience the special joy of Ab Ripper X that only 2 weeks off can bring.

So while my “numbers” were good (actually better), it took about an hour and a half to get through the 55 minute Chest & Back routine. Diet plays a critical role in one’s ability to perform. I “know” this so well now, I can taste it. Ugh.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

