P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 86: Cardio & Max Recovery


I opted to do Max Recovery today since I did Cardio Recovery during my last recovery week.

The video starts out at a very leisurely pace as Shaun T lulls you into the delusion that this will be a nice, relaxing, stretch-oriented routine.

Only it’s not.

Sooner, rather than later, he has you doing a series of military push ups–slowly (and down for one, two, three, four, and up for one, two, three, four…). I’m not sure why, because it’s been several days since the chest & arms have been abused, but my shoulders and pecs were not at all happy about the push ups.

But wait, it gets worse. On Saturday, I climbed a mountain. On Sunday, I did Legs & Back. Yesterday I did Core Cardio & Balance with all those evil Plie Squats. So today, Shaun T serves up even more Plie Squats. A never-ending sequence that quickly revealed how spent my poor hamstrings were from all the recent activity. Once again I have been brought back to reality. A couple of days ago I was walking with a bit of a strut because of my Pull Up progress this round, but now I am duly chastened as I hobble around the house with my “modified” strut, courtesy of Insanity.

Yoga awaits tomorrow. And hopefully it will bring some rejuvenation.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

