P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 90: Cardio X


Milestone: Yesterday I completed my second 90 day block of P90X coupled with Insanity (aka: the Hybrid). It took 109 days to complete, which isn’t bad considering I had an 11 day vacation during that time. I’ll tally up my results and detail my plans for what’s next in a subsequent post. But suffice it to say that I think things continue to trend well.

The Insanity workouts added a new level of effort that, candidly, I wasn’t sure I could pull off. Yet somehow I did. The eating in the aggregate was probably better than in my first round, but I wasn’t as focused on eating five times per day and measuring everything I ate. I continued to lose weight. I’m down to 150 even from my starting weight at 154 at the beginning of this round. Amazingly (to me anyway) I am still carrying a little bit of a belly blob, but its waning. It may possibly amount to about a pound of fat. To be honest, I’m shocked that I have any fat at all left after all the Insanity routines. During this round, my weight dipped down into the high 140’s for a while. I believe it’s going back up a bit due to some increased muscle mass.

In my next round, I’m going to want to continue to build muscle mass, this time without additional weight loss. I realize this will require more eating and more protein. Tennis season is starting up again, so that’s additional calories I’ll need to support.

Looking at the calendar, if I start my next round after a two-week hiatus, I’ll have 110 days to complete it by year-end. I think that’s a pretty good goal.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 2 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Day 90: Cardio X

  1. Nick Jarosh says:

    Good work on your second 90 days! You going to do another round?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on your second round. I’m glad “Nothing” is not on the table anymore. If you come up with a custom hybrid that will leave out “Cardio X”, “Core Synergistics”, “Kenpo X” and include “Yoga X”, both “Cardio Abs” & “Ab Ripper X”; I’d like to take it up for my next round as well.

    On a side note: Putting the content aside, you have a really well-rounded layout and low-key imagery for your blog, everything is so neat that it soothes my inner OCD child. Can’t wait to see your results, plans and the third round itself. Best of luck.

    • Thanks. Yeah, I was kidding about the “nothing” option. I expect I’ll pursue a similar Hybrid in my third round, but I like the idea of eliminating Core Synergistics. Cardio X, I don’t mind, but it’s true it DOES have Superman-Banana, which I hate.

Share your thoughts

