Round 3 Hybrid, Day 2: Plyometric Cardio Circuit


Today I revisited Shaun T’s Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit. As anyone who has completed the Insanity workout series knows, Plyometric Cardio Circuit is one of the Month One routines. Month Two, adds another level of intensity with the “Max” workouts. So in this Round 3 Hybrid, I allowed myself in the first weeks to luxuriate in the Month One routines having had two weeks off between rounds.

Right. Let me now dispel any notion that going back to the Month One Insanity routines is a cakewalk. It wasn’t. Although I started out strong through the warmup, stretches and first circuit, I once again reached failure in the Level 1 Drill/Ski Abs/In and Out madness. And, as before, it was my arms that gave out.

Yesterday, when doing all those push ups, my core felt very good. Stable. But my arms today were like overcooked noodles at the end of the routine. Happily, this reveals that I still can improve from my current level of fitness.

So how’s the shoulder? Thanks for asking. I’m thinking/hoping it’s just an inflammation and I’m taking Advil to treat. During today’s warmup, raising the arm on the jumping jack and the first round of mummy kicks was uncomfortable, but not painful. By the end of the warmup, with the blood flowing, I was feeling better. If I get through this week of exercise without incident, then I’ll know my status for sure after I play tennis on Saturday. I’m not going to swing a racket until I have to, so no play during the week.

I’m looking into getting a heart rate monitor. I’m 49 years old and I think it’s probably a good idea to have a more concrete awareness of my heart rate during these Insanity sessions. I may get the Polar FT7.  We’ll see.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

