Round 3 Hybrid, Day 3: Shoulders & Arms; ARX


I know it burns… it’s supposed to! ~Tony Horton

What wasn’t burning yesterday? Day 3 of P90X has got to be the most uncomfortable day of all. My entire body hurt: Chest & Back induced achiness in my chest, lats and triceps. My abs were… let me put it this way: to get out of bed in the morning, I raised my left knee and grasped it with both hands. I then used this leverage to pull myself up into a seated position. My big toes hurt from jamming them repeatedly into the floor when doing Day 2 Insanity In and Outs. Even my  forearms were sore. Underneath all, I was still aware of the tennis induced weirdness in my right shoulder. Weakness was definitely leaving my body yesterday.

Such was my condition as I began the Shoulders & Arms routine. Shoulders & Arms would be a critical test on the condition of my right shoulder. I was prepared to stop as needed and certainly expected fewer reps and weight than my last S&A routine in Week 11, Round 2. Well, shockingly, I maintained an overall total power score (the accumulation of points on the P90X Excel worksheet “Data” tab), of 461 (vs. 462 in my last S&A). I only reduced the weights on Upright Rows. But I was able to maintain weight and crank out some additional reps for the balance of the routine. After the warm up, my shoulder was feeling pretty good, not perfect, but better. It seems to be getting better each day. So I was feeling pretty good at the end of Shoulders & Arms.

But Ab Ripper X was up next. It was not fun. Not at all. Those first moves: the In & Outs, Bicycles and Crunchy Frogs. Ouch. Fifer Scissors. Oh I got it all done. But is was more like psychological warfare on my body, working through the Day 3 pain and agony to do something you know you body can do.

At the end of the combined routines, I was just a wreck. My upper body was toasty-toast. It was pathetic. I could barely manage to get my shirt off to shower. But I remember that better days lie ahead, so I’ll keep pushing “play.”

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

