Round 3 Hybrid, Day 29: Chest, Shoulders & Triceps; ARX


Once again, I have fallen behind in my posts. I realize it’s not fair to my loyal readership and that these delays open me up to increased competition from other annoying, droning bloggers. So I will endeavor to get back on track. I’ve been doing a good job staying on schedule with my workout routines, when I’m at home. But lately, I’ve been and will be traveling so it’s progressing slowly. Now that I’m in my third round of this stuff, I no longer feel the compulsive need to stay exactly on schedule and to do the routines from my hotel room. I feel confident that, upon my return, I will pick up where I left off. I’ve created a persistent habit. Travels this week and next will only have me home a total of 6 days: enough to complete week 5 of this Hybrid.

So anyway, week 5 started on Tuesday and so I grabbed a paper plate to do my Chest, Shoulder & Triceps Fly Push Ups. But now that my son is at Georgia Tech, I grabbed a Georgia Tech paper plate. Gotta support the cause.

When I start a routine I haven’t performed since a prior round, I always grab the workout sheet I last used as reference for what should optimally be my new baseline numbers for this round. I did the same with this routine. About halfway through, though, I started thinking: “have I really gotten that much stronger than the last round?” Some of the exercises, weights and reps, while challenging, were not as horrible as I usually experience. Well, once I was done and I started entering my data into my anal retentive tracking spreadsheet, I realized I was comparing and baselining off of my ROUND ONE final results. So even these small moments of glory are quickly snatched away from me. Yet I soldier on. I made a note to use the correct Round Two results for next week.

Ab Ripper X. After the recovery week, it seems there was actually some significant recovery. I had my best session I can recall. Even Fifer Scissors, dare I say, went well.

Heart results:

Total Time:  74 minutes (with ARX)
Calories:  757 (or 10.3/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 127
Max Heart Rate:  161
Time in fat burning zone: 27 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 47 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

