Round 3 Hybrid, Day 31: Yoga X & Tennis


Yesterday I got Yoga in a day early because I had a singles tennis match scheduled for later in the day. I prefer to avoid resistance exercises on tennis days. Optimally, I prefer to do yoga on tennis days, so why not “optimize”? Yoga was the same ol’ same ol’, BUT I did do a push up with every transition from plank to upward and downward dog. My total yoga calorie burn was higher than past yoga routines, so I attribute that to the added push ups.

Tennis was scheduled at a weird time for me: 7:30 pm. Too early to have a full dinner before, and too late for a lite snack.  So I implemented a “hybrid” meal plan. I ate a Chick-Fil-A chicken sandwich, washed down with a large chocolate shake. The chocolate shake has 46 g of protein. Ok, ok, it also DOES have some fat, and saturated fat and yes, carbs. According to Chick-Fil-A’s web site, my little snack packed a total of 1,180 calories (750 for the shake alone). But I needed some gas for what turned out to be another 3 set match and I felt good playing and moving around. The score?  I won:  
6-1, 0-6, 6-4. Yes, I continue to have a subconscious need to sabotage any lead. What happened in the second set? It was subtle. I believe I was not stepping in to my shots enough, so–on average–I was playing too far back in the court, giving my opponent too much time. I corrected this in the third set, but it was a nail biter.  

Heart results (Yoga X):

Total Time:  92 minutes
Calories:  557 (or 6.06/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 100
Max Heart Rate:  149
Time in fat burning zone: 78 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 15 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

