Round 3 Hybrid, Days 72-74: Max Interval Plyo, Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X and Yoga


I have not been feeling particularly strong this week. I expect diet has much to do with it. The fat content in my intake has been up all week. Last night’s pizza didn’t help, either.

I did keep it to peppers, onions & mushrooms, though. It WAS good.

This lack of vim really came through during Shoulders & Arms. Right from the start, I felt there was just no way I could match my prior weights without injury. So I decided to radically reduce the weights, to about 2/3 of my prior levels. I must say, without the artificial mental pressure to constantly increase weights and reps, the routine was actually fun. And it’s important to mix it up and lighten the mood from time to time. I DID increase my reps, not out of any number objective, but because I could.

Because of this reduced effort, my calorie burn on Shoulders and arms dropped to 569, down 30% from the 815 on Day 59. Interesting in that I reduced the weights 30% on average as well.

And Yoga. My average heart rate was only 90 bpm throughout. Clearly, I’m struggling less and less with holding some of those positions.

So, it’s not all gains, all the time. Sometimes we need to scale back a bit to allow a bit of indulgence or recovery. Then you can come back, (hopefully) stronger.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Round 3 Hybrid, Days 72-74: Max Interval Plyo, Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X and Yoga

  1. Pingback: Round 4 Hybrid, Day 3: Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X | Bodamer Blog

Share your thoughts

