P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 Schedule


For my fourth round of P90X, I’ve opted to live by the adage: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Meaning that I intend to stick with this hybrid schedule, since it continues to yield results.  I’m aware of the newness, buzz and excitement around the newly introduced P90X2 program. But now is not my time. I know that this little P90X-Insanity Hybrid schedule will continue to challenge me to my fullest.

What is a “Hybrid?” Well, the short answer is that it’s whatever you put together that best meets your goals. For me, it’s P90X Classic with Insanity mixed in to replace the cardio and plyometric elements of P90X. My anticipated schedule is detailed below and it’s exactly the same as my Round 3 schedule.

I intend to begin on Sunday, January 15th. As in the last round, I will modify routines and sequence as needed based on my travel schedule and condition. If you are reading this and starting around the same time, I would appreciate feedback as we progress. The mental commitment is the hardest part and I was getting seriously burned out in the last third of my third round. Having had nearly one month off will hopefully have helped that issue.

I may take the Insanity fit test again before Sunday. If I do, I’ll post the results.

Weeks 1 through 3
Sunday Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X
Monday Plyometric Cardio Circuit
Tuesday Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Legs & Back, Ab Ripper X
Friday Cardio Power & Resistance
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 4: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Max Recovery
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 5 through 7
Sunday Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Ab Ripper X
Monday Max Interval Plyometrics
Tuesday Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Legs & Back, Ab Ripper X
Friday Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 8: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Max Recovery
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 9 and 11
Sunday Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X
Monday Max Interval Plyometrics
Tuesday Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Max Interval Circuit
Friday Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Weeks 10 and 12
Sunday Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Ab Ripper X
Monday Max Interval Plyometrics
Tuesday Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X
Wednesday Yoga X
Thursday Max Interval Circuit
Friday Legs & Back; Ab Ripper X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
Week 13: Recovery Week
Sunday Core Cardio & Balance
Monday Cardio Recovery
Tuesday Yoga X
Wednesday Pure Cardio & Abs
Thursday Max Recovery
Friday Cardio X or Kenpo X
Saturday Rest or X Stretch
 
This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 Schedule

  1. Pingback: Round 4 Hybrid: Days 12-16 | Bodamer Blog

  2. Johnny C says:

    Hi,

    I started my first P90x/Insanity hybrid last Monday and am now on day 10. It’s almost exactly the same as yours except I fence on Thursdays – so it’s fairly heavy going on the legs later in the week.

    Really enjoy Shaun T’s encouragement during the cardio – never really felt pushed by cardio x or that awful kenpo x.

    Enjoy reading your blog and seeing your progress, keep up the good work.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sir, I think you have found yourself a new nemesis, because this schedule is making me drool and I feel I’m ready to kick Round 2 off by January 15th as well. I’ll try to take Insanity fit test on Saturday for future reference. I’d appreciate it if you had one of those grand spreadsheets outlined for this particular schedule. I agree with mental aspect being the hardest part, I tend to get loose with timing and data-tracking when not supervised, so I believe reciprocal feedback would keep me on track too.

    Some minor modification I plan to make:
    – Most weeks have 3 abs workouts and I’m not exactly fond of Ab Ripper X; so I’ll do one of each: Cardio Abs, Insane Abs, Ab Ripper X.
    – There are only two leg workouts after 7th week (week 10&12), I’d like to squeeze in some more.
    – I might replace X Stretch / Cardio X / Kenpo X with Yoga X here and there which I feel I’d benefit more from.
    – I’ll be running 3-4 times on a weekly basis (for ~5km per day)

    *If you feel I shouldn’t be spamming the comments section, I could contact via e-mail.

    • Thanks for writing (you’re not spamming). Glad to hear you’re starting as well. As for a “grand spreadsheet,” I only have the P90X spreadsheet, with some chart mods & formula corrections, a Heart rate/calorie spreadsheet and a pullups spreadsheet. I don’t ever record anything from Insanity, Yoga, Kenpo, Plyo, etc. because I just do those routines…there are no weights & reps. If you want any of the spreadsheets, I’m happy to share.
      Just posted these here: https://bodamerblog.wordpress.com/fitness-tracking-tools/

Share your thoughts

