Round 4 Hybrid, Days 6, 7, 8 and a Milestone


A Milestone: One year ago today, I popped in my first P90X DVD, Chest & Back, and began a journey into the unknown. Now, 278 blog posts later, I’m on my fourth round of P90X and am enjoying the benefits of better physical conditioning. Along the way, I’ve accumulated cool toys, like my heart rate monitor and foam roller. Still, I did actually age a full year. No avoiding that, I guess.

I took an additional rest day on Sunday and went for a short hike on the Appalachian Trail with my lovely wife and our dog. So that put me a day behind schedule, but it was worth it for sure.  It turned out to be Kismet, I suppose, because putting me behind had me doing Chest & Back today on my P90X anniversary. I pulled up my Round 1 Chest & Back results and compared them to today’s effort. 76 pull-ups today, versus zero one year ago. And huge gains in reps and weights in every single exercise. It’s worth taking a moment to compare results over a longer period of time. Too often, I compare my effort to the prior week. And since it’s a marginal difference, my mood can be affected my a minor statistical deviation when in fact the overall trend is fantastic. It’s the not seeing the forest for the trees thing. So, to mix metaphors, I need to be sure to stop and smell the roses from time to time.

Heart Results (Chest & Back, ARX):
Total Time:  69 minutes
Calories:  785 (or 11.3/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 135
Max Heart Rate:  165
Time in fat burning zone: 15 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 54 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

