Round 4 Hybrid, Days 48-52: Rest, Blood Mountain, Recovery


After I finished week 7 with my pull up milestone, I enjoyed my rest day watching my son fence in the 3rd Annual Yellow Jacket Open. And I enjoyed Sunday by hiking up and around Blood Mountain with some friends. It was pretty cold outside, but a beautiful, clear day with outstanding views from the summit. The AT was lousy with hikers and thru hikers beginning their journey north. It’s funny, as soon as we left the AT to close our loop on the Freeman Trail around the mountain, we didn’t see a soul. The AT is a nice trail but the experience can certainly prove contrary if your goal is to get away from it all.

The Blood Mountain excursion once again put me a day behind schedule and I was considering just skipping my first day of recovery week and counting the hike in place of Core Cardio & Balance. But that seemed like a arbitrary decision, so I opted to just complete the recovery week as planned, just one day behind.

Then on Tuesday I started getting that feeling in my throat that indicates something is coming on. And I’ve since been fighting this head cold through Cardio Recovery (which wasn’t so horrible, since it’s only 33 minutes) and today’s Yoga. Now, doing Yoga X with a cold is just not fun. Breathing is importantant and when I am having trouble breathing and feeling weak and wobbly, all I can focus on is stopping. So yoga today was a weak effort and I skipped yoga belly 7 entirely. I also only did about half the push ups through the opening asana sequence.

It’s never fun being sick, but I suppose I’m fortunate that it arrived during a recovery week.

Heart results (Yoga X):

Total Time:  89 minutes
Calories:  375 (or 4.2/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 88
Max Heart Rate:  135
Time in fat burning zone: 88 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 1 minute
Time in the sniffling, sneezing, aching, coughing, stuffy head zone: 2 days so far.

This entry was posted in Backpacking, hiking, P90X-Insanity Hybrid and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Round 4 Hybrid, Days 48-52: Rest, Blood Mountain, Recovery

  1. Anonymous says:

    Funny coincidence, I’m also sick and I also skipped yoga abs yesterday. Today I started legs&back routine despite the nasal flow and difficulty breathing but by the time I got to first pull up, headache made me stop. So I’m switching today with the rest day (well, warmup and a brief workout is better than nothing). Weirdly though, when I’m sick and do cardio stuff (running or Insanity routines), by the end I usually feel like I’m not sick at all, it comes back in a few hours anyway.

Share your thoughts

