Round 4 Hybrid, Day 60 & (part of) 61


Errrr… I had to stop today’s Max Interval Circuit at 20 minutes in due to the sudden onset of a stabbing pain behind my left kneecap. It only hurts when I bend it. Further exercise became immediately impossible.

What’s the deal? Age? Injury? Overuse? All of the above? I am very annoyed.

Yesterday, I reached day 60–two-thirds of the way through this round–as I was getting back into a regular schedule again after a couple of weeks of being sick. I did Shoulders and Arms and Ab Ripper X. And while I still was feeling sluggish, I felt I was moving those weights with good strength. And now this today.

The only thing I can think of is that on Sunday I played a singles tennis match on clay. I must have tweaked the knee at some point and it only became apparent today when I expected it to be of use to me again in the Insanity session. I don’t know. It’s just weird how the pain suddenly came on. What makes this even more annoying is that this is my good knee, never an issue, my whole life.  I need to go check on the warranty.

Hopefully this is just some minor thing that rest (the last thing I want to be doing AGAIN) and Advil will cure. For you younger readers out there, let this be a lesson about the downside of getting older. Something to avoid, if possible.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round 4 Hybrid, Day 60 & (part of) 61

  1. Alex says:

    Nice suggestion Albert 🙂
    btw, I’m Alex, 37 old, from Italy and your blog is really inspiring me about starting my first P90X session, just for stay strong and reactive.
    For now I have some time problems .. called Mattia, my 10 month baby 😀
    Keep your blog alive (and your knees safe: I play tennis too and I know the problem…)
    Thanks
    Alex

    • Alex, thanks for the encouragement. That’s great that you’re using P90X to stay strong and reactive. You’ll need both as your little baby grows & challenges you!
      I had to cancel my tennis match today and am now just going to do rehabilitation exercises each day (perhaps interspersed with some upper body stuff) until the knee is better.

Share your thoughts

