Round 4 Hybrid, Day 62: Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs


As I cautiously proceeded through Max Cardio Conditioning yesterday, I remembered: Oh yeah, this is the one where Shaun T offers no opportunities to stop and drink some water.

Well, I made the opportunities for myself. The water, that life-giving elixir, enabled me to survive the workout. Of course, it also made me sweat profusely.

As I’m doing these Insanity routines a bit slower now, monitoring my knee, I’m finding that I still get a tremendous workout. For instance, on the arms up, high knees thing, I find that doing it slower really allows you to “lift your legs with your core,” as instructed. Afterwards, I also found new soreness in my thighs not typically experienced after these Insanity routines.

Also, for the first time yesterday, I opted to wear a knee strap to assess if there was a benefit. There clearly was. The kneecap tracked perfectly both when the strap was placed above and immediately below the patella. I intend to wear it again later today when I play tennis.

Since my schedule is all screwed up, today is my rest day. And while I’ve had plenty of rest between being sick and having my knee betray me, I’m taking it anyway and using the opportunity to get an hour of rehab exercises in. I would like to get back to not needing the knee strap.

Heart results:

Total Time:  66 minutes
Calories:  840 (or 12.7/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 142
Max Heart Rate:  169
Time in fat burning zone: 7 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 59 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

