Round 4 Hybrid, Day 68: Rehab, Yoga, Rehab, Tennis, and Planning the Next Round


Day 68 actually spanned several days because of my tennis schedule. On Tuesday, I focused on my knee rehab exercises to give myself a break and more recovery from the Back & Biceps routine which completely drained me. On Wednesday, I did Yoga and ate a bit more than normal to fuel up for a tennis match that was ultimately cancelled. Ugh. The Yoga was good for fixing my knotty back still suffering from the pull ups. On Thursday, I did more knee rehab stuff and my knee was feeling pretty good. That is, until I walked on the court to play my final singles match of this season. Errr. The knee was tweaky throughout most of the match, which makes it difficult to commit to bursty movement. Fortunately, I didn’t need to move much, as I won the match quickly: 6-1, 6-1.

As I’ve been limping my way through the final weeks of this hybrid round, my thoughts are moving towards what to do next. As the loyal reader already knows, in a moment of weakness earlier this year, I purchased my very own copy of P90X-2. So now I’m confronting what exactly to do with it. Should I just do a straight 90 day round of P90X-2? Or, should I incorporate some Insanity to create another Hybrid? 

I posed this question to others in my group on the Team Beachbody message board. These folks have all done P90X, Insanity, various Hybrids and P90X-2 as well. So their advice is worth heeding. Well they unanimously came down in favor of my doing a straight P90X-2 Round. I was concerned about the lack of a traditional cardio element in the program. I was assured that there is plenty of cardio work in executing the various routines. And that this, combined with tennis and other activities will keep my cardio fitness intact.

So this is what I plan to do. A straight round of P90X-2. And I have to be honest with myself. I’ll soon have completed 1 round of P90X and 3 rounds of a P90X/Insanity Hybrid. That’s 1.5 years of near constant abuse. I think the P90X-2 program, with its additional day of recovery time and focus on stability and core work is just what my body needs right now. Last evening, to get a glimpse of what lay ahead, I popped in the X2 Core video and what I saw only strengthens my opinion.

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

