Round 4 Hybrid, Days 78 & 79: Chest, Shoulders & Triceps, Kenpo X


courtesy of: Wikipedia

I was feeling pretty good on Monday as I successfully navigated my way through both Chest, Shoulders and Triceps and Ab Ripper X. As you may recall, last week I had to abort my Ab Ripper X session because I couldn’t bend my knee. Well, everything was working pretty well on Monday and I was pleased with the results and 822 calorie burn.

But I continue to modify my schedule. So yesterday I replaced Max Interval Plyo with another Kenpo X session. I never thought I would say this, but I am missing the Insanity workouts. Kenpo X, while entertaining, doesn’t come close to the effort exerted in any given Insanity WARMUP. So while my knee remains something of an issue, I was able to do all the jogging in place and jumping jacks this time (though I declined to do the “X Time” plyo jumping jacks, sticking with regular jacks). The plyo stuff triggers the knee problem. So it was interesting that this time, even though I was going as fast as possible, and doing even more reps than on the video, I just couldn’t get my heart rate up. At a couple of points in the routine, Wesley Idol shares that his heart rate is 160 and Tony reports his at 163. My average was 109 with a maximum rate of 143, which is not very much higher than when I do YOGA. Only Insanity, or pull ups gets me up past 160 nowadays. And total calorie burn was 447, versus 511 in my last Yoga session. Hopefully my knee will continue to heal so I can once again start jumping around and challenging myself. I would really hate to lose the cardio results I’ve worked so hard to gain.

 

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 4 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

