Round 5, P90X-2, Day 1: X2 Core


OK everyone, break’s over. Sorry, but the relentless blog posting is beginning anew. Today, I began another 90 day exercise round. This time, I’m exploring the possibilities within Beachbody’s P90X-2 program.

As my loyal readership knows, I had taken a month off after completing my Round 4 Hybrid to attempt to heal up from the knee injury that was hampering my efforts in the final weeks of the exercise round. Well, now about 60 days after the onset, no significant exercising, lots of rest, ice, rehab exercises, 30 piroxicams, a cortisone shot and now naproxem, the knee seems to be doing much better. I was able to play through 2 doubles tennis matches over the weekend without incident (lost the first match, won the second).

Since this is my fifth round, I didn’t feel compelled to do the fitness test. To be honest, I’m not even sure if there is one. I did hop on the scale though. I weighed in at 145 pounds. Somehow, I dropped five pounds over the last month. I’m sure I’ll get back up to my “fighting weight” of 150 soon, as my appetite increases from the daily calorie burn.

I began my 5th Round today with the X2 Core Routine. My total time went a little longer as I had to pause several times to redo some of the exercises they were finishing just as I was starting to understand the movement. I don’t have any medicine balls yet, but they’re coming. I think the Dreya Roll with a med ball will be interesting.

Overall, I found the workout interesting, but not overly demanding. The toughest part was getting the form down and learning the moves. This, as opposed to P90X where you dive right in on day 1 with the Chest & Back Routine, and Ab Ripper X. They’re probably hoping to make the X2 program to be less of a shock to the system and maximize the completion rate. Who knows, really. It was just the first routine. Regardless, I think the routine will be beneficial as I progress over the next 90 days. Or so.

I don’t yet know how long X2 will take to complete because the program is designed to be flexible with each phase varying in duration based on individual needs. I guessed at the timeline in my little calendar-matrix on the right side of the blog. I’ll modify as I find out what works for me. Right now, I’m assuming a 90 day program.

The most annoying thing, really, was I can no longer skip past all the legal disclaimers warning how P90X-2 can and will kill you if you are not in proper condition and so on. I’m not exactly sure what it said, I left the room while that was running (documented proof that I was not duly informed, in case anything bad happens). Then, after that & you click to start the program you have to hear about WOWY-the online Gym. They do this in Insanity as well. Thankfully, you can skip through that. But it still takes a few minutes to fire up a DVD before you actually get to start the workout. Another thing we can thank the lawyers for.

Even though I found this routine to be relatively easy, I did get a good sweat going and had decent calorie burn.

Heart results:
Total Time:  64 minutes
Calories:  628 (or 9.8/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 125
Max Heart Rate:  166
Time in fat burning zone: 28 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 36 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round 5, P90X-2, Day 1: X2 Core

  1. Anonymous says:

    Good luck with the new round, I’ll be waiting for your commentary on P90X-2 routines, it seems interesting. I took some time off after completing my round as well, I’m starting a pure Insanity round now -in a day or two-. Planning to throw in some yoga and pull-ups. I can feel the soreness already.

Share your thoughts

