Round 5, P90X-2, Day 2: Plyocide


Today I nervously entered the realm of Plyometrics again. Why nervously? Well, the knee. I’ve refrained from plyo activity for about two and a half months now, and I know I’m not fully healed. Regardless, I thought I would cautiously give Plyocide a try to see what it demands. Also, I wanted to at last have an opportunity to try to get a good sweat going.

I went through the routine, again without the use of weights or a medicine ball. This is good because it allowed me to focus on the moves as opposed to the compounded rigor of lifting a medicine ball. I was generally happy with my performance, given 1) it’s been a while since I’ve had an intense workout and 2) most of the moves were new to me.  Also, the knee performed pretty well, without pain. Although, as I write this, I’m icing it down.

People love to compare things. Is Plyocide harder than P90X Plyometrics? What about Insanity? Well, my take is that it is what you make of it. Just like you can always amp up Plyometrics by squatting deeper and jumping higher and increasing reps. The same goes for Plyocide. That said, it’s easier than Insanity which, at its baseline, reduced me to a puddle of goo.

As I get better at the various moves, I know they will prove beneficial. Like someone once said: It’s balance, it’s coordination, it’s the whole freakin’ nine yards! Speaking of coordination, that Toe Tap 360 will be tough for my spastic feet when the medicine balls arrive.

Now don’t get me wrong, this routine worked me. I was very sweaty when done. And, assuming my knee doesn’t betray me, I’m sure it will get more intense as my coordination improves.

Heart results:
Total Time:  56 minutes
Calories:  640 (or 11.5/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 135
Max Heart Rate:  171
Time in fat burning zone: 19 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 37 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

