Round 5, P90X-2, Day 3: Rest or Recovery & Mobility


I’ve had enough rest, thank you. So, yesterday I opted to do the Recovery & Mobility Routine. It’s about 55 minutes of yoga, stretching and foam rolling. Mostly foam rolling.

The video provides good instruction on how to effectively use that instrument of torture to its best effect. It really inflicts pain when you find the right spot. I was sweating just sitting around and rolling on a foam cylinder.

If you’re like me and you’ve been engaged in vigorous exercising for a while, you will go through this routine with a high degree of skepticism. I was beginning to wonder, is this just a 55 minute infomercial to sell more foam rollers? Five years from now will we all be looking back and mocking ourselves for spending an hour (or two, or three) each week rolling around on the floor with a bumpy foam thing? Sorta like how we, collectively, as a Nation, have been working hard to put the whole disco era behind us? It’s hard to say. But since I already possessed a foam roller, I gave Tony the benefit of the doubt.

I can say this: I felt much better–looser–immediately after the routine. Was it just because I stopped inflicting pain with the roller and now, by comparison, I felt better? Nope. I felt better the rest of the day, through the night and now this morning.

So, yeah: yoga and foam rolling. If, like me, you’re of a certain age, you just might want to try it.

Heart results:
I didn’t wear a HRM. Although it would be interesting to see what happens to the heart rate while rolling on a tight spot and I start to sweat.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

