Round 5, P90X-2, Days 18 – 21: X2 Core, Total Body/Ab Ripper, Balance & Power, Rest


Time, Practice, Patience.

I’ve now completed three weeks of the P90X2 “Foundation” phase. In the Beachbody literature, the recommended time to invest in this phase is between 3 to 6 weeks. With the completion of this third week, I feel I’m starting to get the hang of most of the routines. There’s more stability and competence in my efforts.

But it’s a process, and so I’ve decided to spend another week building my foundation, brick by brick, as it were. It’s because I’m noticing a benefit from all the core and stability efforts. After the next week, I’ll dive straight into Phase 2 without taking a recovery week. The two recovery days per week throughout have been enough so far. I expect that I will need a recovery week sometime during Phase 2, or by the end of that phase at the latest.

Three weeks in, I can now compare the numbers between this X2 Round and my last P90X/Insanity Hybrid. This round, I have burned 9,549 calories in three weeks. This is an average of 597 per routine at a rate of 8.8 calories/minute. In my hybrid, I burned 12,548 calories: 31% more. I averaged 100 more calories burned per routine: 697 and the burn rate was higher as well at 10.1 calories/minute.

Now, a good portion of the total calorie burn variance is because the Hybrid was a 6 day/week effort versus 5 days/week in X2–20% more time. But in the Hybrid routines, the flame burned 15% brighter with the additional 1.3 calorie/minute demand.

This is not to say that one regimen is better that the other. It all depends on your goals. For me, this X2 effort so far has been “just what the doctor ordered.” I’m continuing to heal up, and I’m not constantly fatigued from the combined demands of the Hybrid and tennis. It will be interesting (to me at least) to track the next phase to compare and contrast the two programs.

Brick by brick, my friends. Brick by brick.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

