P90X-2, Round 5 Schedule


As I began my fourth round of P90X, my rationale for continuing on with a P90X/Insanity hybrid was simple: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Specifically, that regimen was yielding very good results.  But two-thirds of the way through that fourth round, my exertions from six day/week workouts, tennis and hiking were combining to take a toll. I injured my knee in the midst of an Insanity routine. I muddled along, as best I could, modifying most of the plyometric activity in my workouts, and finished Round 4, still with good results.

But something needed to change. I took a month off and focused on rest and rehab to nurse the knee back. I knew that if I was going to continue with P90X, I needed to cut back and re-focus my efforts. Earlier in the year, in a moment of weakness, I purchased P90X-2. After reading through the accompanying literature, I decided that the focus on core and stability sounded consistent with my goal to recover my knee and further enhance athletic performance.

As I write this, I’m about one-third of the way through the P90X-2 series. And I have to say, the experience has been good. It strikes me as an excellent maintenance routine after completing initial rounds of P90X and Insanity.

When I began this round I didn’t post a schedule because 1) the program is very fluid and easily adaptable to your needs and goals and 2) I wanted to have the flexibility to discover where those needs were. Now that I’m on-third done, I feel more confident mapping out the remainder of this round. Of course it may change, but here is my schedule:

Weeks 1 through 4
Sunday X2 Core
Monday Plyocide
Tuesday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
Wednesday X2 Total Body & X2 Ab Ripper
Thursday X2 Yoga
Friday X2 Balance & Power
Saturday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
I took a modified recovery week here, but didn’t include in the 90 day countdown.
Weeks 5 through 9
Sunday Chest + Back + Balance and X2 Ab Ripper
Monday Plyocide
Tuesday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
Wednesday X2 Shoulders + Arms and X2 Ab Ripper
Thursday X2 Yoga
Friday Base + Back & X2 Ab Ripper
Saturday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
Weeks 10 through 12
Sunday P.A.P. Lower
Monday P.A.P. Upper
Tuesday X2 Yoga
Wednesday X2 Recovery + Mobility
Thursday P.A.P. Lower
Friday P.A.P. Upper
Saturday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
Week 13: Recovery Week
Sunday X2 Recovery + Mobility
Monday X2 Yoga
Tuesday X2 Recovery + Mobility
Wednesday X2 Yoga
Thursday X2 Recovery + Mobility
Friday X2 Yoga
Saturday Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility
This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

