Round 5, P90X-2, Days 60 – 63: The End of Strength


With today’s rest day, I now bid a fond adieu to the “Strength” phase of the P90X-2 routine.

I am now confronted with a decision I have been avoiding all week: whether to spend the next seven days in a Recovery Week, as originally contemplated, or dive right in to the final Phase 3–Performance. I know, it’s an existential crisis to say the least.

On the one hand, now that I’ve completed Phase 2, I really don’t feel too beaten down, broken and torn asunder. On the other hand, I have no idea what level of effort is demanded by Phase 3, with its upper and lower PAP routines. And what the heck is “PAP”? Why, it’s Post Activation Potentiation we’re told. Oh yeah, that clears things up.

What to do, what to do? Do I dare to eat a peach?

At this moment, I’m inclined to pressing forward. If the PAP thing exposes weakness from Phase 2 stresses, I can always just insert a recovery week as needed. But that’s just how I feel right now. The final decision will be made tomorrow, based on how I feel then.

Gripping stuff, I know. And if you’re reading this blog in real time, then you must wait–like me–for the next post, and with it my decision. If you’re reading this blog–God-like–free of the constraints of linear time, then just click ahead and know the mysteries of my life in ways I cannot yet even contemplate.

I really worked pull ups in yesterday’s Base + Back, reaching 121 cumulative for the routine. No kipping. Except, of course, for the “fugly pulls.” I know my heart rate was up there, but I couldn’t record my stats because my HRM crapped out, insisting my heart rate was a steady state 185 BPM during the warm up. This usually means it’s time to wash the strap in the washing machine with some soap. So don’t lose any sleep worrying about me and my heart exploding. Trust me, my heart rate during the warm up was maybe 80 BPMs . But thanks for caring.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

