Round 5, P90X-2, Days 85 & 86: Recovery & Mobility; Yoga


As I stretch my way through my final week of this 90 day round, I have a milestone to report.

Since last week, I am now able to maintain a crude, admittedly ugly, but nonetheless genuine: Wheel pose.

My first experience with Yoga was a year and a half ago on day4 of my first P90X round. I remember being floored by how difficult/impossible it all was.

But I stuck with it. Because after each session, I felt very, very good. Yoga clearly complemented all the stress induced-trauma of P90X, Insanity and Tennis. Without the Yoga, I know I would be sidelined from injury lunging for tennis balls and doing all those plyo and resistance routines.

Over the course of time, difficult/impossible moves were mastered. Warrior 3 is now routine. P90X-2 core/leg strengthening made it an easy move. Crane? I can’t remember how many times I fell on my head falling out of Crane. Somewhere in Round 3 or 4, I became able to hold it for 60 seconds, with great difficulty. Now–I’m not kidding–it’s easy.

And now I can add Wheel to my repertoire.  Oh, not to worry, there’s still infinite room for improvement. But I’m very pleased and a bit surprised by this turn of events.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 5 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round 5, P90X-2, Days 85 & 86: Recovery & Mobility; Yoga

  1. Tim says:

    Now that is a thoroughly motivational message. Always good to see when persistence pays off.

Share your thoughts

