Round 6, P90X-2, Days 15-17: X2 Core, Plyocide, Rest & Tennis


It’s Gahman

So after taking that additional rest day, I found myself a day behind schedule and forced to confront an existential decision. I had a singles tennis match scheduled for Tuesday and unless I changed something up, I was also now scheduled to do Plyocide that same day. No, that was unacceptable. It’s not that Plyocide in and of itself is so taxing, it’s just the cumulative demands of Plyocide and singles tennis that I won’t subject myself to.

But I didn’t want to do X2 Core, then take yet another rest day on Tuesday because of tennis. So I doubled up on Monday, doing X2 Core in the morning and Plyocide in the evening. This turned out to be a good decision because the two routines really don’t conflict with one another and it got me back on schedule with a Recovery day coincident with my tennis match.

It was also a good decision because my match went three sets. I won (6-2, 2-6, 6-4) but it wasn’t easy. My opponent moved very, very well, typically getting to my “winners” and too often doing something to then neutralize and extend or gain the advantage on the point. The points were, for the most part, good extended rallies which required us both to move up, back, left and right, And the shots were full of both top and slice. I really had to use my legs throughout and they responded well. This was the first opponent I’ve played in quite a while where I was unable to break him down physically. I thought his movement was better than mine. I came back in the third set from 0-3 down. I accomplished this by, on the margin, taking a slightly more aggressive position on the court, maybe one or two steps in. This gave me more angles and him less time. A satisfying win.

I also watched the town hall Presidential Debate. It was completely unsatisfying. There was too much interrupting and attempting to dominate the time, from both participants. I can’t imagine that this appealed to the twenty-seven people in the country who remain undecided.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 6 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

