Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Day 1: Chest + Back + Balance


launch-start-buttonI started again yesterday. A new year, a new round. After taking three weeks off between rounds, it was with some trepidation that I inserted the Chest + Back + Balance DVD into the player. From past experience, I knew that the reanimation process–the awakening of dormant muscles–is not pleasant.  And the results of the effort are never particularly inspiring.

Before I hit “play,” I stepped on the scale and weighed in at 151 pounds. I then stepped off the scale and willingly walked to the DVD player and pressed “play,” knowing full well what torture lay ahead.

As I was being humbled by the routine, recording reduced reps for both pull ups and push ups, I reminded myself that it was the first day and that I was comparing my results to those logged when I’m into a round for the third-plus week. And, this is a hybrid, so everything is out of sequence from prior rounds. Still it was hard going.

I skipped the towel pull ups at the end of the routine and replaced with regular pull ups. I’m still struggling with some tennis elbow. Not doing pull ups and only a bit of tennis over three weeks did nothing much to resolve. I also skipped the X2 Ab Ripper because I was pressed for time. I almost passed on starting the round yesterday, but felt it was important not to delay any further. It’s too easy to not do it.

So begins another 90 days. I like the fact that it’s a new hybrid schedule. That I have to look at a chart to see what’s coming. Mixing it up should help keep it fresh and interesting.

This entry was posted in P90X/X2 Hybrid, Round 7 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Day 1: Chest + Back + Balance

  1. Pingback: Tennis Elbow Rehab with the Thera-band Flexbar & Tyler-Twist Protocol | Bodamer Blog

Share your thoughts

