Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Day 2: Plyometrics


jumpIt’s been a while since I’ve performed good ol’ P90X Plyometrics. After completing my first round, I was eager to introduce mo’ better cardio by incorporating Insanity into my routines in place of Plyometrics and Kenpo X. After a few rounds of doing the P90X/Insanity Hybrid, I went on to play with P90X-2 for a couple of rounds.

P90X-2 has a challenging plyo program called Plyocide, which I’ll continue to do in this Hybrid round. But man, it’s been over a year and a half since I’ve done Plyometrics. One of the first things I noticed was how much bigger Tony Horton seemed back in the days of P90X versus in P90X-2. The second thing I noticed is that I still remember all his corny jokes. This stuff is just burned into my brain.

Given the elapsed time since my last Plyometrics effort, I was interested to see how I would do with this bad boy. I’m happy to report I did rather well. I wouldn’t claim that it was easy. No. The routine caught up with me about three-quarters through with those tuck knee jumps. And my hamstrings objected to the squats early and often.

But I kept up with everyone, performing at least as well as the cast. I made it hard by getting low in the squats.

This was good. I was happy to see that I hadn’t lost much aerobic capacity and that the routine was very doable.

This entry was posted in P90X/X2 Hybrid, Round 7 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

