Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Days 6 – 9: Base + Back, Rest, Chest & Back, Plyocide & Ab Ripping


LaLane_Finger_pushupsEven though it’s been almost a year since I last performed the P90X Chest & Back routine, I found myself moving through the warm up sequence, remembering each move without prompting.

Yet I had forgotten how this routine completely breaks me down. All those push ups. They limit my ability to do pull ups. This is the routine that always has my lowest pull up results. But it’s not for lack of effort.

It’s very interesting to be doing these P90X routines after having completed two rounds of P90X-2. So far, I’m finding that my core strength is very good. And that because of this, it feels like the various routines/exercises have a more targeted effect on the named muscle groups. Push ups are now all about tris, shoulders & chest. Pull ups work the back the most. Who knows for sure. I feel like I’m getting more out of the P90X routines than I did in the past. But that’s probably just the gauziness of my memory. Reading though my past posts I recognize that I broke myself down to my full ability in those first four rounds.

Part of this feeling, I think, is because I’m now working with more fully formed muscle groups. I think this aspect alone should help me to avoid injury. Anyway. it’s all still very hard, but in a different way.

So far everything’s challenging, but not dauntingly so.

This entry was posted in P90X2, Round 7 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

