Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Days 29 – 33: Week 5 & a Fast Hike


stone_mountainI’m almost done with week 5 now. And a milestone: one-third done with this round already. Time flies. With this week, I had the opportunity to do another P90X routine I hadn’t attempted for about 10 months–specifically, Chest, Shoulders & Triceps.

And wow. CST really breaks you down ’til you can’t do any more push ups. I was very happy that, with the exception of Floor Flys, I was able to match my results from last year. Looking back, I think I possibly could have matched my prior Floor Fly results. But it was only the 7th move out of 24 and already I felt like I was losing steam. As I continued through the routine, though, I was happy with the results on the shoulder-related moves. I’m feeling fairly fit and injury free at the moment. This is especially good because singles tennis starts next week.

On my rest day this week I went on a 7 mile fast hike around, then up and down Stone Mountain. I went with a group from the Atlanta Outdoor Club. It was a night hike, so when we summited Stone Mountain we had great views of Atlanta all lit up on the horizon. It really was a fast hike, too. We did the whole 7 miles in 1 hour, 50 minutes (3.8 miles/hr total and 4.4 miles/hr for the 5 miles around the mountain). I was walking about as fast as I can without breaking into a jog. It was fun to open up the throttle and keep up with a much younger group. Going forward though, I will count fast two hour hikes as cardio/plyo days, rather than layering this on top of the schedule. Because, with tennis, it will become too much and I won’t have sufficient recovery time.

I’m still liking this X/X2 hybrid. It’s the variety. And the results seem good so far. I expect I’ll do it again for my 8th round.

This entry was posted in hiking, P90X/X2 Hybrid, Round 7 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

