Round 7: P90X / X2 Hybrid, Days 73 – 76: Pollen Count 8024 and Hallowed Ground


Recognize this gym?

Recognize this gym?

After our rather cold, wet onset to Spring, this week’s warming trend has caused the regions flora to burst to live all at once. The result: clouds of pollen. Yesterday’s count was 8024. What does that count mean in one’s everyday experience? Well, out neighbor’s black cat was spotted outside, now dusted green. US RDA Daily fiber intake is met or exceeded by merely breathing. Tennis balls, when hit, rooster-tail swirls of the green stuff. And questionable calls can be challenges, simply by looking at the pollen ball marks on the hard courts.

My own tennis efforts were put on hold this week due to weather and scheduling issues. No complaints, my arm needs whatever healing I’ll grant it. My home rehab exercises are focused on my relatively weak shoulder/rotator cuff areas. The PT said they typically focus on the wrists when treating tennis elbow, but my wrists aren’t weak. The shoulder moves she gave me confirm the weak spot.  I’m incorporating the moves into my resistance workouts, replacing the moves that cause pain. I also think I will abandon pull ups for the remainder of this round and go back to using bands.

So, do you recognize the gym pictured at the top of this post? If you do, you’ve no doubt spent some quality time with the infamous Shaun T of Insanity fame. Me, I spent three rounds of a P90X/Insanity hybrid, suffering, all the while with that gym in the background. It’s burned in my eyes.

Why is the picture there? Well, one of the members of our “Team Ballistic” Team Beachbody message board support group recently had the opportunity to visit the location. So he snapped a picture. I know, I know. Some people make pilgrimages to Jerusalem, others to Mecca. Heck, my spiritual quest led me to Seattle. But there are others who find themselves drawn to an old gym, at Lehman College in the Bronx, NY. That hallowed ground once graced by Shaun T, Tania and Anna.  Hudge, did you light a candle?

This entry was posted in P90X/X2 Hybrid, Round 7 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

