Round 8: Tai Cheng, Days 31 – 35: Enough with the Rain, Already!


Noah's ArkSince my last post, I’ve celebrated the Fourth of July, watched Wimbledon, bought a new car and completed week 5 of Tai Cheng. Through it all there has been one constant: rain. I think it’s fair to say we’ve had rain every day now for over a month. The grass is actually dying–drowning. And it’s dark all the time. To say it’s lost it’s novelty is an understatement. Perhaps some sun salutations will help matters.

We’re all suffering from cabin fever here. No tennis, no hiking, no biking. Well, it’s not like I’m playing tennis now anyway. How is the Tennis Elbow? I believe it continues to gradually improve. The healing is so damn slow, though, it’s hard to be objective. I’m continuing the rehab with the Thera-band Flexbar & Tyler-Twist Protocol. And I wear a wrist brace to help relax the tendon. I’ll continue to give it time, ice and ibuprofen. I have these things in abundance .

The second half of Tai Cheng week 5 went somewhat better. There were occasions when I believe I actually performed the sequences correctly. Regardless, I’m improving at it. And the important thing is, in the aggregate, I’m feeling progressively better as I continue through the program. The Tai Cheng program gets lots of negative reviews because it’s so slow, boring and repetitive. And it is all these things. But it’s not really boring to me because it’s challenging. The warm up sequence is just so beneficial. Those slow knee bends  (posture up!) are easy, to a point. After that point, they’re difficult. I can get pretty low, but not with my butt nearly to the ground without falling back. That’s a goal, though. And I think it’s doable. Between the stretching, foam rolling and hip ripping cossacks, my movement and balance has improved. So, maybe it’s slow and boring and repetitive because that’s exactly the process one’s body requires to achieve balance.

The one thing all these exercise routines have in common is the mental aspect. P90X, Insanity, P90X2 and yes, Tai Cheng all require a mental resolve to complete the 90 days. They’re all challenging different parts of your brain and demanding you suppress the voices that beg you to stop. But all these different areas are parts of the whole. And all contribute to the end product.

E pluribus unum.

This entry was posted in Round 8, Tai Cheng and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

