Round 8: Tai Cheng, Days 50 – 52: A Disturbance in the Force


Blood Mountain Cove Falls

Blood Mountain Cove Falls

I’m back in the saddle now. I had guests for the past week and lost access to my workout area. I resumed today with the third day of the 8th week of Tai Cheng. I am happy to report that the whole thing went very well. I haven’t lost any of my gains from the Tai Cheng program. I even performed the sequence correctly each time.

The day before the relatives arrived, I did a great 10 mile hike to a lesser known area around Blood Mountain called Blood Mountain Cove. The trail leads to two nice waterfalls. Since it was our first time hiking there, we veered off course a couple of times, adding to the adventure.

During one of our wayward traipses, I missed stepping on the head of a timber rattlesnake.  I got about fifty-feet out in the field and suddenly, the great beast appeared before me. I tell ya he was ten stories high if he was a foot. Instinctively–plyometrically–I leapt aside. My mouth filled with the bitter taste from adrenaline. The snake, uninterested, did not move. I was grateful for it’s lack of interest. The bite of a timber rattlesnake is nothing to be trifled with. After I composed myself, I took its picture and continued back to the correct route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The remainder of the hike was beautiful and non-life threatening. The falls at the end of the cove are worth the trip. This was the second snake spirit that visited me this year. An omen?

This entry was posted in Backpacking, hiking, Round 8, Tai Cheng and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

