Round 9, Insanity: Day 13 Proved to be Unlucky for Me


lays-classicEven though I’ve successfully completed 8 rounds of these Beachbody programs, I recognize that I’m not a fitness professional by any stretch of the imagination. So, when it comes to advice, I tend to defer to the dictates of the lead protagonists of the programs I’ve endured. For instance, when Shaun T tells me to get my knees up, Albert T is compelled to oblige. Such was the case during today’s Pure Cardio regimen.

For some reason, even though I’ve done this routine many times, today was the first time I attempted to hold a bag of potato chips in my hands while performing butt kicks in the warm-up sequence. I don’t know why, but Shaun T tells you to hold a bag of chips while doing these. Again, I’m not the teacher, just the student. But it was humbling to say the least. I don’t know about you, but Albert T was brought to complete failure trying to eat those potato chips, keeping my jaw loose, as I did those butt kicks. With all the heavy breathing, I damn near inhaled the chips, and wound up coughing my lungs out.

apple_turnover

As if this setback wasn’t enough, later in the program Shaun T starts talking about turnovers. Who knows why? I suppose the sugar feeds the muscles during the cardio. Well, I was  trying not to be discouraged from the potato chip incident, and fortunately, I had a dish of nice warm Apple Turnovers sitting there next to my DVD player. So, while doing those High Knees, I crammed an Apple Turnover into my mouth. The sugar, combined with the inability to breathe, did indeed add a new dimension to the effort. I can’t say I managed to keep up. I may even have blacked out for a few minutes. Anyway, it’s not as bad as it sounds, because when I came to I still had the taste of the Apple Turnover in my mouth.

So, clearly, even though I’ve done this routine many times before, there’s always room for improvement. And this experience, while in many ways a failure, piqued my interest. I’ll have to do some research to better understand the science behind the potato chip/turnover element of this routine.

This entry was posted in Insanity, Round 9 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

