Round 9, Insanity: Days 30-35, Half Way.


FOY_Yoga

Tony Horton amping up Downward Dog

Milestone: Half way done with this round of Insanity.

I continued through this recovery week with the Insanity Core Cardio and Balance routine. Interestingly, as the week progressed, the 40 minutes went by with less and less effort. If I can finish this round and avoid any knee issues, then I can see the benefit of doing Insanity as a stand-alone regimen. The repetition, and similarity every day allows me to focus more on form. I’m doing far less “flailing around” nowadays and I think that allows me to get much more out of each routine.

Since today was a rest day, I thought I’d finally get around to trying out the Fountain of Youth Yoga DVD that is part of Tony Horton’s One-on-One series. It’s a more casual affair, filmed in the workout area in his basement. And it’s only 45 minutes long. Having done P90X-2 a few times, it’s pretty clear that Fountain of Youth Yoga was a prototype for the P90X-2 Yoga routine. So there wasn’t much new here. But it was fun to do a slightly different and shorter yoga sequence. And I was happy that I was able to readily perform all the sequences, since it’s been about seven months since I last did any yoga. The Tai Chi ensured I didn’t lose any balance, coordination and stretchiness.

Tomorrow starts the second half of Insanity, with the “Max” routines. We’ll see what the old guy can do.

This entry was posted in Insanity, Round 9 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

