Round 10, P90X3, Day 1: It Begins Again


P90X-3_Round-10Milestone: Three years ago I started this fitness effort in earnest with my first round of P90X. I had no idea what to expect, or even if I had the wherewithal to get through the 90 days of that program.

It turns out I did and since I have gone on to complete various combinations of P90X, P90X2, Insanity and Tai Cheng. Along the way, I’ve learned much about my abilities, limitations, diet and fitness.

Now, February 1st, I’ve started my 10th round of Beachbody programs, this time with the third generation version of the venerable P90X, named appropriately: P90X3. I’m doing the “classic” version.

The appeal of this program seems to be 1) it builds on the concepts introduced in P90X2, 2) requires far less equipment and 3) each routine to crammed into 30 minutes–even yoga. Last but not least, I get to hear Tony Horton’s latest lame jokes. I must say, I find him to be an excellent yardstick since he’s just a little older than me, incredibly fit and seems to have the same stupid sense of humor as I do.

So I began today with Total Synergistics. Before starting, I played the DVD and watched what was coming. It was a good idea, because there are many new moves and the pace is brisk. Even having reviewed the video beforehand, I still made mistakes on a couple of the moves.

Having now completed the routine I can make several observations. First, having not done any upper body work for 10 months because of tennis elbow, my ability to do pull ups has been dramatically reduced. I was able to knock out 7 of each kind, but it was work, and they weren’t consecutive. I think that given the pace and resulting time constraints of the routine, it’s designed so you probably can only get 10 to 15 in anyway.

Second, I see why there’s no Ab Ripper X included as a standalone workout. there’s lots of core work in most of the moves and I know, that I’ll be feeling it in a couple of days.

Last, it’s unclear how demanding this routine will be. I wasn’t sweating at the end and that’s partly because it was the first attempt and time was wasted learning and with relatively low weights. It’s also because I’m in pretty good cardio shape from my last Insanity round. But the 30 minute cap and the balance work will also limit the weight potential as with P90X2. Don’t get me wrong, it was effort. I suspect it’s more sustainable effort than the ripping and tearing of P90X.

I’m looking forward to the next 90 days. There seems to be a good deal of variability and it seems promising to be a good learning experience and a holistic approach to total body fitness.

This entry was posted in P90X3, Round 10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

