Round 10, P90X3, Days 7 – 9: Dynamix, Backpacking, Tennis & on to Week 2


pinemtnlogoI rested this past weekend with a Boy Scout backpacking trip at Pine Mountain, Georgia. Once again, we were blessed with perfect weather as we trekked our 10 mile path up and down and around the mountain. After completing my first week of P90X3, it was good to get out and stretch my legs. Everything was feeling a bit achy as it always does in the first week of any new regimen. But once the backpacking commenced, I fell into my groove and was firing on all cylinders. Still, even with all this fitness stuff, after 8 miles things start aching. Usually for me this involves general knee area unhappiness. This time, though, it was the hamstrings. It was residual tightness from the squats and lunges of the prior week.

Not a problem really, except that on Sunday, after returning from our hike, I played a mixed doubles tennis match. By the end of that effort my legs were officially toast. It was worth it, though. Sunday’s match marked my first victory since the onset of tennis elbow when I stopped playing last April. I’ve only played about 5 matches since then. But this was the first match where I had absolutely no pain during and after the match and the ball generally went in the direction I was attempting to hit it. I still don’t feel like I have enough arm to play a season of singles tennis, but this was nevertheless a very happy event.

I finished my first week prior to backpacking with the Dynamix stretching routine. It was good and enjoyable mainly because it was something new and different. And now that I’m back, I’m into week 2. Weeks 2 and 3 are a repeat of week 1. I’m experiencing much less achiness than last week, which is progress. Though pull ups remain weak.

This entry was posted in Backpacking, hiking, P90X3, Round 10 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

