Round 10, P90X3, Days 12 – 15: I Hate Having to Repeat Myself


orderYesterday, after losing my mixed doubles tennis match with particularly uninspired play, I was wallowing in my misery with teammates and neighbors as we watched the remaining matches. As I took a sip of the tepid, tasteless beer on that dreary day, one of my teammates (apparently one of the very few that does not subscribe to this blog) asked if I was still doing that P90X “stuff.”

I took a breath, and counted backwards from 10. I hate having to repeat myself. And everything I have to say on the matter is painfully detailed here in this blog. But it was a social situation, so I replied, that yes, I continue to do it and am now in what is the third iteration of P90X: the aptly named P90X3 program.

Then I made some joke about if they had to ask, then it obviously wasn’t working. And that, in fact, Beachbody–the company behind P90X and all these routines I’ve been doing–had filed an injunction against me and this blog ordering me not to publicly acknowledge that I’m doing–or have done–any of their workout programs. Apparently, the fact that I’m doing and have done these programs is damping their sales. When people see me they just think “well, this P90X thing is surely a total waste of time.” Hey, you shoulda seen me before, was my weak protest. But to no avail.

So, now I’m not sure what to do. Another workout program? Not as easy as it sounds. Crossfit has me on a monthly retainer to stay away from any association with their program. And that contract goes for another four years with an auto renewal clause.

I filed an appeal and got a temporary stay, allowing me to continue this blog, wear my P90X3 hat and discuss yoga at cocktail parties. Hopefully, I’ll prevail.

Meanwhile, I’m pressing on. I started week 3 today. I increased my med ball in CVX last week to a 10 pounder. On Sunday, prior to my shitty tennis play, I opted for a Tai Cheng Neural Reboot session over Dynamix. This was a good decision, regardless of the tennis outcome. And with today’s Total Synergistics, I also amped it up a bit with slightly higher weights.

This entry was posted in P90X3, Round 10 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round 10, P90X3, Days 12 – 15: I Hate Having to Repeat Myself

  1. Antti says:

    You don’t believe how hard it was to find a reviewer who wasn’t affiliated with BeachBody – or at least handing out free samples of Shakeology drinks. Googled quite a lot to find this blog. So it could well be that Tony and the guys really are suing people. 🙂 Don’t give up on the P90X3 and keep writing!
    (P.S. I think you may eventually learn to like the X3 yoga. It’s fast-paced, sure, but once you learn the moves, you also have more time to enjoy it.)

Share your thoughts

