Round 12: Embracing Insanity.


P90X-Round-12“To live is to suffer, to survive is to find some meaning in the suffering.”
~ Friedrich Nietzsche

“To live, you must suffer.”
~ The First Noble Truth of Buddhism

“Keep dose knees up.”
~ Shaun T

Yesterday, I embarked on a 60 day journey, plunging into the depths of Insanity.  At 52, it is arguably somewhat crazy to try to keep up with the youngsters featured in this 60 day cardio torture fest. But I wanted to give it a go yet again. Throughout my backpacking this summer and fall I was feeling marginally less efficient, cardio-vascular-wise. No doubt some of that was due to the elevations involved. And I wasn’t feeling any degradation on the tennis court, excepting for tennis prowess.

Still, I want to dip my toe in the water and see how I can handle the abuse. Now, having completed day 2, I find it continues to be just brutal, but I feel I’m actually performing better than I previously did early on in the program. It’s tough to describe. Something like I feel more athletic, less spastic, when performing the moves. Better form, more confident landings. I think all that balance and agility stuff from P90X3 helped a good amount. And my legs and core have definitely gotten stronger over the past several years.

I realize I’m only two days in. But it’s a good start and I think it will prove beneficial.

Time will tell.

This entry was posted in Insanity, Round 12 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

