5 Proven Ways to Get the Most Out of Your Insanity Workout


Traffic-Building-Strategies-10-Ways-to-Get-Other-People-to-Send-You-Free-TrafficIf you’re like me, you make a point of exercising most every day. And you like to challenge yourself during the routines. In your diligent efforts, though, you may eventually grow frustrated. As your overall conditioning improves, you find the routines less challenging. Your results may begin to plateau.

I’ve had the benefit of completing many rounds of the Beachbody programs including: P90X, X2, X3 and Insanity. As I progressed through this current round of Insanity, I found my performance improving with each passing day. By the end of the first half of the program, I was hardly sweating and was breathing much lighter than needed for effective gains. So I took advantage of my years of experience and took these five simple, yet proven, steps to up the ante going forward.

  1. Of course, the first step is to simply begin doing the “Max” routines, which were scheduled anyway in the second half of Insanity. These routines run a full hour, now adding on another 20 minutes to your typical, regular Insanity routine.
  2. The second step involves not getting enough sleep the night before your workout. I accomplished this by hosting a Monday Night Football party at my home yesterday.  2014-12-08 18.37.17
  3. Next, I leveraged the hosted party, and consumed succulent, savory, BBQ pork butt that had been smoked for 17.5 hours in preparation for the event. The pork butt was accompanied with salty green beans, full-on buttermilk cornbread and various other sides with the following Protein-Fat-Carb Ratios: 5:120:87.
  4. weihenstephaner_hefeTo wash down all that fat, I drank several 0.5 L bottles of Weihenstephaner Hefe Weissbier. I recommend it.
  5. Finally, to cap off the festive evening, we all enjoyed a nice Williams Birne Schnapps as a digestive.

Ladies and gentlemen: if you follow these five simple steps, I GUARANTEE your next Insanity workout will be difficult beyond your wildest dreams. Today, I had no idea how I would get through that hour. Yet, somehow, time passed and the routine was completed with plenty of room for improvement.

The next challenge for me is how to keep up with the “night before” routine to ensure all my remaining workouts remain as difficult as today’s.

This entry was posted in Insanity, Round 12. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

