Coda


2000px-Coda_sign.svgIt’s been over two months since my last post.

Why the silence?

Well, back in June, I injured my left knee playing tennis. Since then, I had been refraining from tennis though I was able to continue walking and hiking and backpacking without any issues. But after my return from Austria, the knee started getting worse.

So I started shifting days around in my hybrid routine, avoiding legs and plyometric exercises. I also started doing much more yoga and rehab work. This was all resulting in extremely gradual improvement. Enough so that I signed up for singles tennis for the fall season.

Well, my first match went three sets. And I won the match, but lost the battle because for the entire week afterwards I was limping around with a very unhappy knee. Ultimately, even doubles tennis play needed to stop. And my 111 day hybrid routine? Well, after 80 days of selective routines, I eventually ran out of exercises that didn’t involve the legs, so I stopped that too. Honestly, just not doing anything (even yoga) seemed to help calm things down with the knee.

I met with my ortho guy. My x-rays were, of course, great. And he (like me) suspects tendinitis. So now I’m on Feldine for a month. Three days in and it’s a noticeable improvement. These tendon issues are so damn frustrating as I age, because it’s such a slow process. But, mentally, it’s good to feel that things are now moving in the right direction after having been stuck with a compromised knee for so many months.

I was enjoying that hybrid and will likely restart it in the future. I liked the variety.

Last week, to give myself a random goal, I opted to do the 100 push ups regimen. It’s a multi-week journey that is designed to build the doer up to being able to successfully execute 100 consecutive push ups. During my initial fit test, I knocked off 30. This allowed me to begin in the third week of the program. I did week 4, Day 1 yesterday. Damn, that last set is just exhausting and it brought me to failure.

On alternate days, I’m swinging a light kettlebell for some mild cardio and movement. Oh and yoga as well when the kettlebell seems like too much.

This entry was posted in P90X2. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

