Round 3 Hybrid, Day 75: Max Interval Circuit


Yesterday, while gasping and sweating my way through the Insanity Max Interval Circuit, I glanced up at the screen. Now, this is unusual for me. Typically, I work out to these videos just listening to the instructions, rarely looking at the screen. Why? Well, partly because, when I look at the moves being performed while I’m doing them, I get out of sync, lose rhythm and balance. Also, because half the time I’ve lost my ability to see anything.

Anyway, as I look up to the screen about half way through the circuit, with 29 minutes remaining, Shaun T introduces: High Knees with a Twist. No big thing. It’s just another air sucking move among many. But then I see this woman. Anna, I think her name is. There she is, like my nemesis Tania, with the biggest smile on her face, raising her knees and twisting her body to perfection. I’ll say this again, for emphasis: this is not at the beginning of the video–it’s at the half-way point.

I have to say that this is just very annoying to me. It’s not enough for the Beachbody corporate people who produce these videos to develop a product that yields terrific fitness results. No, they also have to humiliate you in the process. How else to explain including the happily robotic, cloying, cast members such as Tania and Anna. And the very annoying, “corn cob Katie” of Back and Biceps fame, well there’s just no explanation for her. But I digress.

So anyway, there I am, working my butt off, sweating profusely, gasping for air, unable to see, wearing my heart rate monitor and hooked up to an AED as a precaution (I’m a belt and suspenders kind of guy)… and there she is: smiling. There may even be a slight aura around her head. I’m not sure.

What does it say about me that all the cast members on these videos who annoy me seem to be women? Does it make me a misogynist? I don’t think so. I like women. Some of my best friends are women. Heck, I even married a woman!

I think the blame for the selection of these cast members lies squarely at the feet of Carl Daikeler, the CEO of Beachbody, LLC. After all, the buck stops there, doesn’t it?

Heart Results:

Total Time:  60 minutes
Calories:  760 (or 12.7/minute)
Avg Heart Rate: 143
Max Heart Rate:  161
Time in fat burning zone: 4 minutes
Time in fitness zone: 57 minutes

This entry was posted in P90X-Insanity Hybrid, Round 3 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Round 3 Hybrid, Day 75: Max Interval Circuit

  1. Travis Wright says:

    LOL, I feel the same way…LOL. I try to use it as motivation and keep up with her. Seeing them smile through the pain, just makes me think these people are machines!

  2. Ally says:

    NO, its nothing about how you are a male! She is CRAZY. I get so angry when shes on the screen:) i feel your pain!

  3. Cry More Noob says:

    Maybe you don’t like the women because they show you up. How can a woman do better than you? Impossible? Not so much. I’ve found the only people that don’t like Tania (or the others) are either insecure men that can’t take being beaten by a woman or insecure women that don’t like that an attractive woman is on the screen.

    • Right. That’s what it is. I’m just an insecure man. It can’t possibly be that you’re just someone unable to distinguish between serious prose and (admittedly) lame humor.

  4. Pingback: Round 3 Hybrid, Days 80-82: Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X, Yoga & Max Interval Circuit | Bodamer Blog

Share your thoughts